WCYR NaNoWriMo – Cub Scouts

1170 words. Not bad. Kinda shocked a little. Don’t want to come to strong out of the gate only to have a poor finish.

I thought maybe I could bank words, but that’s not the premise I’m going to work on this month. 500 words is the minimum. The maximum will be 2000 words – only because I fear after 2000 words that I would actually away inspiration for the following day.

And for the rest of my WCYR NaNoWriMoers (if that even is a word), thank you again for keeping me going.

Today is a continuation of yesterday. The characters have really come alive for me in the last seventy two hours. I find myself thinking about them in idle moments. They were running wild when I meditated this morning. Trying to think of a way to maybe incorporate ‘the killer’ I wrote about on Day One.

Oh, man. Is this ever going to be fun.

===========================================================================

Cub Scout

                Wally had a poster of Samantha Fox on the back of his bedroom door. She wore blue torn blue jeans, a ratty jean jacket, and was topless underneath.

                “They’ll never see it,” he explained to Teddy. “They speak to me standing at the door. They never come in.”

                The poster faced Wally’s bed. That didn’t concern Teddy right now.

                “Do you still fit in the suit you wore for your confirmation?”

                “You haven’t even looked in my closet yet. How do you know it is even there?”

                “Because that was the last time I saw you dressed up and I know you left your school clothes in your locker.”

                Wally went over to the tape deck in his room, looking for something to put on. The whole setup was an expensive hand-me-down after his father upgraded his own system at Christmas.

                “You’re no better,” Wally said. “Why do I have to get dressed up anyway?”

                “You’re not getting dressed up,” Teddy said before exploring Wally’s walk-in closet. “I am.”

                “And why is that?”

                “I told you, we need money.”

                “I don’t need money.”

                He put on Master Of Puppets, side 2. Disposable Hero. Then he sat at the head of his bed, his back against the wall.

                “Oh, perfect,” Teddy said as he came out of the closet.

                “Those’re my school clothes.”

                “It’s what I hoped for. They look like they haven’t even been worn, though.”

                “That’s right. I wear the same uniform all week. I bring it home from school on Fridays to get washed.”

                “Today is Friday.”

                Wally shrugged.

                “I can’t wear the tie, though.” The argyle tie had the school crest for Blessed Kateri Tekawitha secondary school. “We don’t want to get anyone in trouble.”

                “No, we certainly don’t. What are you doing?”

                “Getting changed.”

                “You’re certainly in a rush,” Wally said. “

                “I want to be sure to be here when your friends come and pick us up. I don’t want them to leave without us.”

                “Wow. I never thought I would see the day.”

                “What now?” Teddy stood in front of the full length, free standing mirror next to the door for the walk-in closet. He cinched in the belt tight and rolled up the cuffs underneath, careful to press it tight and debated on stapling it. He tucked in the billowing dress shirt as much as he could without it looking sloppy and looking puffy where it extended almost to his thighs under the pants.

                What he needed now was footwear. Cowboy boots wouldn’t do. Surely Wally had another pair of Reeboks, but they would likely be far too big. Cowboy boots would ruin everything. Maybe not. He had to be sure before he went out of the house. Everything is in the details.

                “Theodore ‘Teddy’ Duffy is in love,” Wally declared.

                “I am not anything. I want to make an impression.”

                “And you want to do it by dressing for school when we go out to the movies with my friends. Not me, man. I got changed before leaving school and I ain’t changing back until Monday.”

                Teddy made eye contact with him using the mirror. “No. This is how we are getting money to go to the movies.”

                “You,” Wally corrected, pointing to the mirror. “I got money.”

                “Yeah, well, not all of us have an allowance.”

                Then, after taking another look in the mirror, he said, “Fuck it. This’ll have to do.”

                He turned to look directly at Wally. “You can stay here. I’ll be back in exactly forty minutes. No. Wait. Fifty minutes.” Twenty minutes out, ten minutes work, twenty minutes back.

                Wally got off the bed. “No way. I’m coming with you. I want to see what you are going to do next.”

                Teddy smiled.

                “Then come on. You won’t even need to get changed. I think that might actually work.”

                Twenty minutes later they stopped walking. Teddy went to knock on the door of a house on the other side of the street after telling Wally to stay put.

                A woman just shy of middle age came to the door. Short hair, high waisted jeans, a simple peach coloured blouse, and a tea towel held in place on her left hip. She held open the door with her right hand.

                “Excuse me, ma’am. We are collecting donations for Cub Scouts. We’re trying to fund our trip to Ottawa so we can see the Parliament Buildings and stuff.”

                “Who’s we?”

                “Well, me and my friend, actually.” He nodded his head in the direction of Wally, who was on the other side of the street with his long, brown hair, jean vest, jeans, Reeboks and Metallica Ride The Lightning tee shirt on. He stood about six one to Wally’s five ten.

“He’s not a scout or anything. I just wanted someone to help out if I had any trouble.”

                “Trouble?” She closed the door just a little. No, don’t.

                “Uh, yeah. When the other kids found out how much money I collected before, they kinda jumped me on the way home.”

                “Jumped you?” She put her hand that held the tea towel to her mouth. It was a sincere gesture but it looked comical. Don’t laugh. The door opened more than it was when she first greeted him. Good.

                “It was my fault, really. I bought Docs for school. They rolled me for them and took my money. I had to borrow a school uniform from my friend and wear my dad’s workboots.” He looked down at his cowboy boots. “After the trip to Ottawa I’m going to work at an industrial unit with my dad, collecting garbage and stuff. But this time, he’s going to pay me. When I do it now before school, it’s more to help out and stuff.”

                “I’ve seen on the news about rolling kids for Docs. This is terrible. What do Docs look like?”

                She looked behind her at the assortment of scattered shoes, like she was looking for a snake in a garden.

                “Just black leather shoes with thick soles. They say ‘Doc Marten’ on the heel, too. I mean, on the sole. And inside the shoe, too. Kids wear them instead of dress shoes at the Catholic school I go to.”

                She continued to use her eyes to find Docs.

                “But you’re really busy. You have a good day, ma’am.”

                “Nono,” she said. “Wait here.”

                She came back, handing him twenty dollars from her purse.

                “Gee, thanks.”

                She handed him another twenty dollars. “Promise me. No Docs.”

                Teddy smiled his most honest smile and gave her a salute. “Yes, ma’am. Thank you, ma’am.”

                Wally crossed the street and met Teddy at the curb.

                “What the hell was that?” He copied Teddy’s salute.

                “Cub Scout salute.”

                “The hell it was.”

                Teddy shrugged. “She thought so.” He held up a pair of twenty dollar bills. “A few more houses like that and we are going out tonight in style.”

                Before Wally could ask anymore questions, Teddy was on his way to the next house.

Leave a Reply

