If R2 D2 is to have a movie, he needs a good song

R2D2+is+best+droid_5246db_4109182

I wanted to blog a post about Disney and their plan to create Star Wars character movies, like ones about Han Solo and Boba Fett. Personally, the one for Han Solo should be part of the story arc created for Marvel comics in the eighties, about three statues that he had to steal. I can’t remember it and I can’t find it online, but I will look for it.
I wanted to say Disney should take a page from Marvel’s book and hire a fan – not a fan boy – to write and direct the new movies. Create the character movies the same way they have Thor, Hulk, Captain America, and Iron Man. And, I just have to say, if Sam Jackson gets into the new movies for Star Wars as Mace Windu and he gets to be part of the Marvel Universe as Nick Fury, that would be an achievement few others could match.
I also wanted to say that a short movie deserves to be written about R2 D2. He is the man. Read the caption with the photo above. All of it is spot on but he does not get the respect he deserves.
I really wanted to outline a movie plot for what would be “Edward Scissorhands” meets “The Littlest Hobo” meets “Pinocchio” but as I got more and more into it, I realized I hadn’t thought it through. I mean, the whole time, I’m playing the soundtrack to “The Littlest Hobo” over in my head and trying to see if I can change some of the words to ‘Droid’ to make it all futuristic and Star Warsy and stuff, but then I realized, that is not what I want for R2 D2. He deserves better.
So, I’ll close with this – Disney, don’t forget about R2. He deserves better than a theme song that is merely a rewording of
..every solar system, I makes a new friend
I don’t stay for long, just tweet what sounds like a song, and I’m gone again
Maybe tomorrow, I’ll wanna settle down
Until tomorrow, I’ll just keep blasting along
Down this road, that never seems to end,
Where new adventure, lies just around the bend.
So if you want to join me for a while
Just grab your blaster, a sabre that’s travel light – that’s jedi style

Leave a Reply

