Why I am not an Atheist

Atheism is an exclusive school of thought. It excludes. It says what they don’t believe in.
I prefer Humanism. It is inclusive. It says they believe in human beings.
I am inclusive, too. This is what I believe.

I believe no one should ever attack anyone else’s belief system. Everyone is entitled to their own doctrine, even if it is demonstrably wrong.

I believe everyone has a thirst for wonder.

I believe nature is better at wonders than we are.

I believe everyone makes mistakes. To err is human.

I believe the way to reduce the mistakes is to remain skeptical.

I believe experiments reveal truth.

I believe that if I were to stand at the edge of a Focault pendulum, put the 500lb bob to my nose, and let it go, that when it swung back towards me, it would not hit me in the face.

I believe we should examine and correct and experiment to verify every hypothesis.

I believe there are no privileged frames of reference.

I believe no child should leave grade school without a complete understanding of “The Bullshit Detection Kit”.

I believe in Occam’s Razor.

I believe an agnostic is an atheist without the strength of his convictions.

I believe Jesus Christ to be an admirable, historical figure.

I believe the Sermon On The Mount is one of the greatest ethical statements and one of the greatest speeches in history.

I believe “Love thy neighbour” is a long shot solution to world peace.

I believe the world needs an inspiration.

I believe Jesus Christ was a great, brave man with insight’s into unpopular truths.

I believe Jesus Christ was just a man.

Leave a Reply

